Honorary Life

William McKay Honorary Life
Membership Award

This award was renamed in 2009 to honour William G McKay, Association President 1953-1954, winner of the AWWA Fuller award 1978, the WEF Bedell award 1988, the WCW Lindsten award 1956, and member of the Association since its inception in 1949.

W. G. McKay                                                                                                                       President 1953-1954

Bill McKay graduated in Civil Engineering from Queens University.  After serving in the RCAF in the war he joined Underwood & McLellan in 1945 and worked on projects in the prairie provinces including Calgary, Swift Current and Flin Flon.  Bill became an Associate of UMA in 1952, then General Manager, President in 1962 and Chairman of the Board  in 1970.  During this time he was a Project engineer on RCAF stations and PMQ housing throughout Western Canada.  He retired from the UMA Group in 1973 but continued as Corporate Secretary for many years.  Bill was the recipient of the Lindsten Award, the Fuller Award and the Bedell Award. He is a Past President of many organizations, including the original Canadian Section of AWWA, the Professional Engineers of Saskatchewan and the Engineering Institute of Canada.

Award Criteria

Recipient should be retired from water and/or sewage field either by virtue of age, 35 years service or ill health.

Recipient must have had a minimum of 20 years membership in a Constituent Organization of Western Canada Water. This period to be reviewed from time to time as the membership grows older.

Membership need not be consecutive years.

The number of recipients each year is to be limited to a total of three.

Candidates may be nominated by the host province Provincial Council or any active member in good standing. The nomination shall be submitted with a brief outline of candidate qualifications for the award to the Executive Director by August 1st. The Executive Director shall verify the nominee’s membership in the operator’s association.

The host province Provincial Council shall make the final selection. Selections shall be made not later than September 1st.

The Selection Committee may accept or reject any, or all nominees, and if no nominations are received the Committee may select its own candidate.

Nominees not chosen in any one year shall be considered in the following year, but if not chosen must be re-nominated as provided for in Paragraph 5.

An announcement of the award recipient will be made at the Annual Conference and in the following WCW Magazine edition.